Springsteen: Did I Miss Something? Yes.

This blog has been dormant for over a year. I had said all I needed to say about my media ministry, and more! The program that I have over-written about since I retired still brings fond memories. Social media comments on various radio/TV group sites contain some warm thoughts from those who listened all those decades ago. Now and then someone will say some thing like, “I wish I could hear that program again.” And I’m thinking, “Wow, it’s a compliment for sure. But I doubt the recordings would be as good as they are remembered.” Remember that favorite recipe of your Mom’s? You pulled it out after many years, and it wasn’t quite (or at all) like you remembered it.

Turns out that “Celebration Rock” will wind up being mentioned again on a television program in a couple of days. I am interviewing a friend about his relationship with Bruce Springsteen. Now, they haven’t ever met, but Joe has met Springsteen through his music, and it literally changed his life. I’m looking forward to hearing the details. I only have a pencil sketch of that story so far, but I know in that half-hour conversation on television the lines will be filled in with color, texture, and perspective.

As we talk about Springsteen– his music, his stories, his story — I’ll have to confess that other than a scattering of hit songs, the artist never got an hour-long “Celebration Rock” program to himself. How did I miss him all those years?

If you recall from the previous posts here, my radio work was based in Richmond, Virginia, and it turns out that at the same time my rock show was cranking up, Springsteen was playing in Richmond… a lot. One report says he may have played some thirty concerts in RVA from 1969 to 1975. He and Steel Mill played in a city park, in small clubs, even in a parking deck. Some of his band members lived for awhile in Richmond. He found an easy audience there. And appreciative.

When “Born to Run” hit the charts, I played it, of course. And later when “Born in the USA” was released, the album was in my collection. When I did my hour-long program about “home,” his “My Hometown” was in the line-up. And when I did a program about bars, watering holes, and cafes…the Boss’ “Glory Days” added to the stories. But I never did a Springsteen special. Geez.

So after all these many. many entries about the thematic radio programs I produced over those two-plus decades, here was a confession about a program I didn’t do, and should have. Certainly should have.

So, when we record that interview the day after tomorrow, I’ll admit that I missed big time there. And I promise that the next “Celebration Rock” program I do will feature his music. I mean, after that one-man Broadway show he did, I’m sure my radio program will be another step on the way to stardom.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment